How Do You Become a Home Inspector in South Carolina?

Are you ready to lay the foundation of your own home inspection business? We’ve created a comprehensive guide to help you cement your new career as a home inspector in South Carolina.

Follow the steps below to learn more about home inspection courses (and why they’re necessary), taking the National Home Inspector Exam (NHIE), and where to go from here.

See SC Course Pricing & Packages
Free Home Inspector Webinar


  • Home inspectors must be 18 years of age.

  1. Complete a 120-Hour South Carolina-Approved Home Inspection Course

    The South Carolina Department of Labor, Licensing, and Regulation requires all home inspectors to obtain a license. The first step in obtaining a South Carolina Home Inspector License is completing the required 120-hour South Carolina state-approved home inspection course. Professional home inspection training from a reputable home inspection school is key to understanding common business practices as well as establishing yourself as a trusted expert.

  2. Complete the National Home Inspector Exam

    After completing your home inspector courses, the next step that South Carolina requires is passing the National Home Inspector Exam (NHIE) or a South Carolina-specific exam plus the South Carolina Business Management and Law Exam. (Applicants will receive an exam eligibility letter with information to contact PSI.)

    The National Home Inspector Exam consists of 200 multiple choice questions (25 of which are not scored) covering three major domains, or sections, that every home inspector should know. Those domains are:

    • Property and Building Inspection/Site Review
    • Analysis of Findings and Reporting
    • Professional Responsibilities

    Test takers are given 4 hours to complete the exam, and each attempt costs roughly $225 (depending on your location). Due to the unignorable cost of taking the exam, we highly recommend taking an Exam Prep course to greatly increase your chances of passing on the first try. If an individual does not pass, they must wait 30 days before taking the exam again.

  3. Complete a Background Check if Prior Convictions Exist

    If you possess a prior conviction, the state of South Carolina requires that you submit to a national and statewide background check. It’s important to note that a criminal record does not necessarily disqualify an applicant from licensure.

  4. Pay $80 Application Fee and Apply

    Once everything has been completed, it’s time to apply for your Home Inspector License. The application costs $80 and can be completed online through the South Carolina Department of Labor, Licensing, and Regulation website. If applying by mail, be sure to have your application notarized and include payment.

See SC Course Pricing & Packages
Free Home Inspector Webinar

Quick Facts:

To become a licensed South Carolina home inspector, you must:

  • Complete a 120-hour South Carolina-approved home inspection course
  • Pass the National Home Inspector Exam or a South Carolina-specific exam plus the South Carolina Business Management and Law Exam
  • Complete background check if you have a prior conviction
  • Apply and pay the $80 application fee
  • Optional: Minimum of one year of experience as a home inspector under the
  • direction and direct supervision of a licensed home inspector,
  • residential builder, general contractor, engineer, or architect

Want To Learn More?

There’s a reason why over 70,000 students have chosen us. Check out the home inspector online course with AHIT and see for yourself. Most packages include books, videos, exercises, practice questions, a certificate of completion & more!

Request Your Free Catalog & Get Started Today!

Learn more about how to become a home inspector, getting your home inspection certification, and the average home inspector salary.

After signing up, you will occasionally receive newsletters and special offers via email. We will never sell or distribute your email address to any third parties. View our Privacy Policy.

South Carolina Home Inspector License Requirements

Requirements to Become a South Carolina Home Inspector

  • Home inspection education hours: 120 hours
  • Exam Required: 1. NHIE OR South Carolina specific exam and 2. SC Residential Business management and law exam
  • Application Fee: $80 (other fees may apply)
  • Notarized application is required
  • Background check required only with certain arrests/convictions
  • Fingerprints are not required
  • Social Security card and Driver’s License are required
  • Minimum age requirement: 18
  • Previous Experience: if applying without examination

Home Inspection License Expiration: 6/30 every two years (even)

South Carolina Home Inspector Continuing Education Requirements

  • No continuing education is required for renewal

South Carolina State Licensing Board