The first step is to understand the licensing or certification requirements for your state.

New Jersey Home Inspector License Requirements

Requirements to Become a New Jersey Home Inspector

  • New Jersey home inspection education hours: 180 hours (if 250 inspections are not completed – see below)
  • Inspections: 250 under the direct supervision of a licensed New Jersey inspector (if education is not completed – see above)
  • Exam Required: NHIE
  • Application Fee: $125 (other fees may apply)
  • Insurance Requirements: E&O in the amount of $500,000
  • Notarized application is required
  • Background check may be required by state
  • Fingerprinting is not required
  • High School Diploma or GED required

Home Inspection License Expiration: Every two years

New Jersey Home Inspector Continuing Education Requirements

  • 40 hours every two years

New Jersey State Licensing Board

Want to learn more about becoming a home inspector in New Jersey?

Click here to get more info about our Professional Development training offerings in New Jersey.

Have questions? Speak to an AHIT career advisor today at 855-919-1414.

Request Your Free Catalog & Get Started Today!

Learn more about how to become a home inspector, getting your home inspection certification, how to get home inspector jobs, and the average home inspector salary.

After signing up, you will occasionally receive newsletters and special offers via email. View our Privacy Policy.

How to Become a Home Inspector 

FREE Webinar. Register today.

View Dates