How Do You Become a Home Inspector in North Dakota?
Are you ready to lay the foundation for your own home inspection business? We’ve created a comprehensive guide to help you cement your new career as a home inspector in North Dakota. Follow the steps below to learn more about home inspection courses (and why they’re necessary), taking the National Home Inspector Exam (NHIE), and where to go from here.
You must be at least 18 years of age.
Complete a North Dakota-Approved Home Inspection Course
The North Dakota Secretary of State requires a license to work as a home inspector, and choosing the right training will set you apart and build your brand as a reputable inspector. The recommended North Dakota home inspection course, including ebooks, aligns with topics on the National Home Inspector Exam (NHIE).
Complete Either the NHIE, ASHI, InterNACHI, EBPHI, or ICC Exam
After completing your home inspector education, the next step is to register for (and pass) the National Home Inspector Exam. The NHIE consists of 200 multiple choice questions (25 of which are not scored). Test takers are given 4 hours to complete the exam, and each attempt costs roughly $225 (depending on your location). This test is known to be difficult, and enrolling in Exam Prep is an excellent way to fully prepare for your exam.
North Dakota also accepts the completion of your exam through the American Society of Home Inspectors (ASHI), the International Association of Certified Home Inspectors (InterNACHI), the Examination Board of Professional Home Inspectors (EBPHI), or the International Code Council (ICC).
Provide Proof of Errors and Omissions Insurance for at Least $100,000
As a licensed home inspector in North Dakota, you must obtain errors and omissions (E&O) insurance. E&O insurance helps cover claims of negligence, errors in your services, misrepresentation, inaccurate advice, omissions, and violations of good faith and fair dealing. You’re required to have a policy minimum of $100,000, and you must include a valid policy number and effective coverage dates.
Pay the $200 Application Fee and Apply to Be a Home Inspector
Once you’ve taken and passed the National Home Inspector Exam (or its equivalent), you can apply for your license. Please note that you’ll need to pay a $200 application fee.
- Education isn’t legally required to become a licensed North Dakota home inspector, but it’s highly recommended since inspectors are legally obligated to follow certain business practices.
- Your North Dakota Home Inspector License expires annually.
- A notarized application, background check, and fingerprints are not required.
- The North Dakota Century Code establishes the North Dakota home inspector licensing requirements and other applicable laws and statutes
- Your North Dakota home inspector registration fee is $200, and your license renewal fee is $50.
Request Your Free Catalog & Get Started Today!
Learn more about how to become a home inspector, getting your home inspection certification, and the average home inspector salary.
North Dakota Home Inspector License Requirements
Requirements to Become a North Dakota Home Inspector
- North Dakota Home Inspection Education Hours: No education required
- Exam Required: NHIE, InterNACHI, ASHI, or ICC
- Application Fee: $200 (other fees may apply)
- Insurance Requirements: E&O insurance for $100,000 minimum
- Notarized application is not required
- Background check, fingerprints are not required
- Minimum Age Requirement: 18
Home Inspection License Expiration: Annually on 6/30
North Dakota Home Inspector Continuing Education Requirements
- No continuing education is currently required for renewal
North Dakota State Licensing Board
- North Dakota Secretary of State establishes the North Dakota Home Inspector Licensing Requirements