How Do You Become a Home Inspector in Louisiana?

Are you ready to lay the foundation of your own home inspection business? We’ve created a comprehensive guide to help you cement your new career as a home inspector in Louisiana. Follow the steps below to learn more about home inspection courses (and why they’re necessary), taking the National Home Inspector Exam (NHIE), and where to go from here.

See LA Course Pricing & Packages
Free Home Inspector Webinar

Prerequisites:

  • You must have a high school diploma or a GED.

  1. Complete a Background Check With Fingerprinting

    The Louisiana State Board of Home Inspectors (LSBHI) requires all Home Inspection License applicants to submit to a background check and fingerprinting. To do this, applicants must fill out the Right to Review Authorization and Right to Review Disclosure forms and bring them or mail them (with payment) to the Louisiana State Police Headquarters. Costs associated are a $10 fingerprinting fee and a $26 processing fee, which must be paid by money order, cashier’s check, or business check.

  2. Complete 90 Hours of Louisiana-Approved Home Inspection Education

    Next, applicants must complete the required 90-hour state-approved home inspection coursework. Professional home inspection training from a reputable home inspection school is key to understanding Louisiana home inspection law as well as establishing yourself as a trusted expert.

  3. Take and Pass the National Home Inspector Exam

    After completing your home inspector courses, the next step that Louisiana requires is passing the National Home Inspector Exam. The exam consists of 200 multiple choice questions (25 of which are not scored) covering three major domains, or sections, that every home inspector should know. Those domains are:

    • Property and Building Inspection/Site Review
    • Analysis of Findings and Reporting
    • Professional Responsibilities

    Test takers are given 4 hours to complete the exam, and each attempt costs roughly $225 (depending on your location). Due to the unignorable cost of taking the exam, we highly recommend taking an Exam Prep course to greatly increase your chances of passing on the first try. If an individual does not pass, they must wait 30 days before taking the exam again.

  4. Conduct 30 Hours of Hands-on Field Training + 10 Live Home Inspections

    In addition to coursework, the LSBI requires applicants to complete 30 hours of hands-on field training and 10 live home inspections. Some schools offer live coursework with home inspections that satisfy this requirement.

  5. Attend a Standards of Practice and Report Writing Seminar

    Since January 1, 2007, everybody seeking a home inspection license must attend a Standards of Practice and Report Writing seminar. Several classes are held throughout the year.

  6. Provide Proof of E&O and General Liability Insurance

    Per the state’s rules and regulations, a license won’t be issued unless you have insurance that meets the state’s minimums for coverage. The insurance requirements for a licensed home inspector in Louisiana are:

    • An errors and omissions (E&O) policy that covers a minimum of $300,000 (maximum deductible of $5000)
    • A general liability policy that covers a minimum of $300,000 (maximum deductible of $5,000)
    • A bond of $25,000

    General liability policies for small businesses are roughly $40 per month, while errors and omissions insurance can set you back approximately $59 per month. To get the best rate and a better idea of what coverage you need, speak with a licensed local insurance agent who has worked with other home inspectors, members of local home inspector trade organizations, or shop for insurers online.

  7. Pay the $200 Fee and Send in Your Notarized Application

    The final step in getting your Louisiana Home Inspection License is sending in your notarized application with the $200 fee.

See LA Course Pricing & Packages
Free Home Inspector Webinar

Quick Facts:

  • As of April 2022, the average Louisiana home inspector salary is $85,822 ($57,022 base pay + $28,800 in commission).
  • To become a home inspector in Louisiana, you must complete 90 hours of state-approved coursework as well as 30 hours of hands-on field training and 10 live home inspections.
  • License applicants must also pass the National Home Inspector Exam (NHIE) and attend a Standards of Practice and Report Writing Seminar.

Want To Learn More?

There’s a reason why over 70,000 students have chosen us. Check out the home inspector online course with AHIT and see for yourself. Most packages include books, videos, exercises, practice questions, a certificate of completion & more!

Request Your Free Catalog & Get Started Today!

Learn more about how to become a home inspector, getting your home inspection certification, and the average home inspector salary.

After signing up, you will occasionally receive newsletters and special offers via email. We will never sell or distribute your email address to any third parties. View our Privacy Policy.

Louisiana Home Inspector License Requirements

Requirements to Become a Louisiana Home Inspector

  • Louisiana home inspection education hours: 90 hours
  • Standards of practice report writing seminar by LSBHI
  • Inspections: 30 hours of hands-on +10 hours/10 live inspections
  • Exam Required: NHIE
  • Application Fee: $200 (other fees may apply)
  • Minimum age requirement: 18
  • Insurance Requirements: E&O Insurance for $300,000 (max deductible $5000) and General Liability Insurance for $300,000 (max deductible $5000)
  • Bond: $25,000
  • Notarized application is required
  • Background check and fingerprints are required
  • High School Diploma or GED is required

Home Inspection License Expiration: Annually on last day of anniversary month

Louisiana Home Inspector Continuing Education Requirements

  • 20 hours annually (8 hours of online education permitted)

Louisiana State Licensing Board